Lyme Disease Sends My Son to Truancy Court

Apparently, the high school my son attends equates being out of school due to Lyme disease with knocking off liquor stores for drug money.  This morning, we were summoned to appear in family court for my son’s truancy charge.  The court date is tomorrow morning.  This has been an on-going threat and bully tactic used by the school since October.  Despite our extensive documentation of my son’s Anxiety Disorder, and his brief stay in the hospital this year, the school has opted to ignore the relevant information that may benefit the child in favor of blind indifference.

Once my son was diagnosed with Lyme disease and co-infections, including Bartonella, it was no longer an option to take truancy off the table.  For whatever reason, the same team that finally qualified my son for an IEP after five months, is too impatient to wait for a doctor’s advice, or to see how my son reacts to his treatment.

What strikes me as particularly cowardly is the way in which the school plays the elusive game of ‘pass the buck’.  It seems that everyone I speak to ‘doesn’t know anything about’ what ever it is I’m asking; they all have their own individual protocol.  Yet, they were communicating enough to count the days my son was absent and send it to the family court.

I was also told, “This isn’t school, this is court, your son has to attend.”  That stuck me as odd considering the reason we are going to court, according to this same individual, is because my son has to attend school- regardless of mental or physical health issues.  Why is it that I have to fight with everything I have in order to get my son what the school claims they provide for every child.  The quote on the district site says the following:

“…a place where learning has no limits and academic excellence is measured one child at a time.”

If that’s the case, I would say they are in severe academic failure.  Not only has my child been bullied by the administration and discriminated against for an illness, he is being criminalized for being ill.

I’ll admit, my stomach knotted and I was filed with anxiety when the officer brought the court summons to my home this morning.  I think it’s a natural reaction to feel nervous when being asked to go in front of a judge, especially as a parent.  But now, I’m a lot more curious than anxious.  What are they going to say?  What is the school hoping will happen? I have documented every step of the way with my son’s illness, even prior to the Lyme, and although that may not be a recognized illness for some, his symptoms can’t be ignored.  How can they say he did not have a fever while at the doctor’s office.  How can they ignore his blood work and EKG?  It seems to me that this is a frustratingly irresponsible waste of time and resources in order for the school to get out of giving my son the time and resources we are asking for.

Many people have asked me why I don’t homeschool my son.  There are several reasons.  First, my son does not want to be homeschooled.  He went to school from Kindergarten through ninth grade, and enjoyed being with his friends in the school community.  Secondly, I don’t think it would be a good long term solution for him or for me.  I don’t particularly want to homeschool him, nor do I want to argue with my ex-husband in court about it.  Also, I believe it is the responsibility of our school district to help educate my son. Why should my son be penalized for being sick?  He’s a very good student with no history of disciplinary problems; in fact, the one constant in every situation this year has been the comments about my son’s kind and polite demeanor.

In my opinion, if anyone deserves to react to others with anger, annoyance, and frustration, it’s my son.  But, he has maintained a level of respect for others that they have not shown to him in return.  I am dismayed by the apathy, rudeness, and ignorance shown by many of the adults we have encountered, but it has given me a chance to see what an extraordinary young man my son is.  I have nothing but pity for those who have judged him; if they took the time to get to know him, they could certainly learn a thing or two about empathy and acceptance of others-two things they are severely lacking at the moment.

Leave a comment